Best friends

Forewarning, I don’t quite know how to word this properly…. but I’m going to try so that I can better understand it myself….

On the topic of Best Friends:

I’ve had quite a handful of friends in my life.. and many more acquaintances to count.. but when it comes to Best Friends, have I ever had one? What does the term ‘best friend’ even mean exactly?
Is it just another label to define another person who becomes close in your life?
Is it the peer you spend the most time with?
Is it someone who shares a similar sense of humor?
Is it someone who you’ve spent your entire life around?
Is it possible to have more than one?
Or is it beyond all that?
Could it mean a special type of connection with someone who knows you entirely from the inside out and even more so after that?
Someone who just ‘gets‘ you; and you ‘get‘ them back…
Someone who would be by your side no. matter. what.
Or is that just a rare phenomenon?
How many people actually get to experience that kind of friendship? Do we even at all?

I have so many questions….. and not enough answers…..

I think I’ve had best friends. In fact, I’d like to consider a few of my current close friends my ‘best friends’. Each one is completely different in their own beautiful way, and I love them and everything that composes them so very much.
A little background on my life… I’ve never grown up around any one group of people, unlike most americans. My family moved around a lot, and for a good chunk of time I was homeschooled and lived on a farm, rather isolated from any contact with peers outside of my computer.  That may sound depressing to you, but it was the childhood experience that shaped me into the person I am today, and for that I am grateful. I learned a lot about myself in my growing years, and I like to say I’m a pretty independent person because of it.
But I hear so often about people who’ve known each other their whole lives… their parents were close friends, and they went to the same preschool together, etc. I will never have the ability to experience such a connection with someone..
The longest friendship I’ve had is about 9 years old now, and we hardly speak anymore.. maybe two or three times a year at most.  Everyone else I know I’ve been acquainted with for maybe 5 years tops. So the close friends that I’d consider my ‘best friends’ I’ve maybe known for an ongoing of 4 years. I call them my best friends because they are those that I love and cherish in this moment. And maybe for me, best friends are just going to come and go in my life like they always have… who’s to say? I can only continually love them for the moments that we experience and have shared together…

I guess, in somewhat of a conclusion, that term means whatever you make out it to be. A best friend can be someone you’ve spent your whole life with, or it could be the chick you met at the library last week who was checking out the same book as you, or it could just be the people you hold dear for the time being in life that you are experiencing. Whatever it may mean to you, love them. Cherish them. Appreciate them. Adore them, and experience every waking moment that you can with them. Because as friends, we are the glue that hold us together.

And that’s what I have to say on the topic of best friends.

Leave a comment