Staircase

Fibonacci_Stairs

Given all, to the ground.
Just barely touching the air.
To rise again with all might,
I hold your hand gently, but snug.
Fear of letting go.
Encouragement I gave myself,
and to you.

I stand tall in the treetops,
staring out at the wide skies,
the sea of a universe,
as I plan for more.
Grounding, the reverse, yet the key.
It’s what you’ve given me.

All my years,
I hid under my bed,
if I opened my door, there was no going home.
To lose a home,
that wasn’t what I’d expected,
to build one’s own,
and yet another.

I share a piece of my bread,
in return for your wine.
I didn’t ask for much.

Every day spent in a dream,
head in books,
pen in hand,
money in wallet,
A desire to destroy the war within us all.
A desire to dry every tear shed.
A desire to make everything better.
The truth only hurts.

Burning to my eyes and ears,
drones and bombs,
it all makes sense.
There is no blame left in me.
I gave all, so did they,
and you in your own.

We got away,
but from what?
The crowds,
the drugs,
the noise?
Only memories and hope remain.
Dreaming of something, somewhere
bigger, better,
thrilling, unknown.

Every day, caffeine to my knees,
weight to my back.
Roses, waterfalls, lightening,
shadows, clouds, awakening..
Bigger than every day.
Tomorrow’s another step,
on a staircase leading to somewhere unseen.

Dreams, wishes,
hopes, fears,
cries and joys.
It all happens at once,
but only in a flicker of a thought.
Do you follow? Or do I?
I’ll hold your hand if you step too.

 

Written ~ 8/27/13

Leave a comment